News and Events

News Archive


Posted: 4/12/2011


The Udall Foundation is pleased to announce 80 students from 61 colleges and universities have been selected as 2011 Udall Scholars. Of this group, 10 Scholars are Native American or Alaska Native students. 

“This year's group of scholars is one of our strongest classes ever, with an impressive showing of Native students pursuing careers related to tribal public policy or Native American health care,” said Terrence L. Bracy, chair of the board of trustees for the Udall Foundation.

This class of Udall Scholars was selected by an independent review committee from among 510 candidates nominated by 231 colleges and universities. Five Native American/Alaska Native Scholars intend to pursue careers in tribal public policy; five Native American/Alaska Native Scholars intend to pursue careers in health care. Three Scholars selected from tribal colleges.

Each scholarship provides up to $5,000 for one year. Fifty Honorable Mentions will receive a $350 award. Since the first awards in 1996, the Foundation has awarded nearly 150 scholarships worth over $700,000 to Native American and Alaska Native students.

The 2011 Udall Scholars will assemble August 3-7, 2011 in Tucson, Arizona, to receive their awards and meet policymakers and community leaders in environmental fields, tribal health care, and governance. Students will also have the opportunity to participate in a full-day Nation Building Workshop facilitated by the Native Nations Institute.

2011 Tribal Public Policy & Native American Health Care Scholars

  • Samantha Aguirre, Navajo Nation, Arizona State University
  • Shannon Alden-Wilson, Crow Tribe of Montana, Little Big Horn College
  • Julian Benavidez, Pueblo of Isleta, University of New Mexico
  • Jessica Clayburn, Yurok Tribe of the Yurok Reservation, Humboldt State University
  • Lyle Etsitty, Navajo Nation, Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute
  • Roger Irwin, Yankton Sioux Tribe of South Dakota, University of South Dakota
  • Blake Jackson, Choctaw Nation, Oklahoma State University
  • Trudie Jackson, Navajo Nation, Arizona State University
  • Abigail Jones, Prairie Band of Potawatomi Nation, Haskell Indian Nations University
  • Alyssa London, Central Council of the Tlingit & Haida Indian Tribes, Stanford University

For a listing of all the 2011 Udall Scholars and Honorable Mentions and more information on the Foundation and related programs, visit or contact Mia Ibarra at (520) 901-8564 or

About the Udall Foundation

The Udall Foundation is an independent federal agency that was established by Congress in 1992 to provide federally funded scholarships for college students intending to pursue careers related to the environment, as well as to Native American students pursuing tribal policy or health care careers.  The Udall Foundation also offers a doctoral fellowship in environmental policy or conflict resolution and operates a Native American Congressional Internship program each summer in Washington, D.C., placing top college, graduate, and law students in Senate and House offices, the Executive Office of the President, and Cabinet agencies, where they learn firsthand how federal policies on tribal issues are developed.  In 1998, the Foundation grew to include the U.S. Institute for Environmental Conflict Resolution, created by Congress as the federal government’s only program focused entirely on resolving federal environmental disputes.


For additional information, please contact Libby Washburn at 651.343.4660 or

Back to the News and Announcements Archive