About us

Meet Our Board

Matt James
Trustee Emeritus

Matt James is the founding president and CEO of The Center for the Next Generation (TCNG), a nonpartisan, nonprofit strategic communications and policy organization, committed to building a safe, secure and prosperous future for the next generation of Americans through a focus on two major policy areas - a clean energy economy and children and families.

Before joining TCNG, he was an integral part of the Kaiser Family Foundation's leadership team for 20 years, serving most recently as executive vice president. At Kaiser, James helped develop ground-breaking public education projects in partnership with national and international media companies, including the highly regarded nonprofit health news Kaiser Health News. Prior to joining Kaiser, he worked in national politics as a senior aide to Senator Daniel Patrick Moynihan of New York, Senator Dale Bumpers of Arkansas, and Representative Morris K. Udall of Arizona. James was appointed by President Clinton to the Board of the Udall Foundation, is past-chairman of the Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health and serves on the President's Advisory Board of the National Wildlife Federation.